City 2 Surf – TEAM AWESOME

City2Surf – The biggest fun run in the world

 

Growing up and living in Sydney the City2Surf was of those things that I always wanted to do, just to be able to say that I had done it, I would see it every year on TV and think… how awesome would that be… to be in that crowd… it just looked like so much FUN J

 

Last year ( 2011 ) I did it for the first time, I met a girl online through the biggestloserclub website and we bit the bullet and entered…. weighing in then at 103kgs my only goal was to finish it… which I did in 2:44 

 

This year I was excited to do it again, lighter and fitter I was aiming to smash my previous time and do it in under 2hrs… I also wanted to get a photo of myself in the same place I had a photo taken the year before for comparison

 

Its great to have goals, but I have also learnt its even more important to have fun and to share that fun with friends….

 

I set up an event on FB and registered a team…. TEAM AWESOME!!

 

We organised a mini bus to drive us in and pick us up… no waiting in line for trains / buses for us, we are going in style …. or as much style as a school mini bus offers anyway..

 

Up bright and early for a huge day… 4am pick up… seriously… 4am for a race that starts at 830…

 

It was freezing, gale force winds, temps around 8degrees… but that was not going to stop TEAM AWESOME..

 

                                      

 

We arrived at Hyde park at 630am and the atmosphere was AMAZING thousands of people buzzing around… Sandra and I spotted Neil Perry in the crowd and sheepishly asked for a pic..

 

Our group was divided into 2 start groups Yellow ( Me Leonie, Jodie, Kristi, Marion, Teresa, Karen, Lachlan, Andrew, Kathy, Karen  and Sally ) and Orange ( Sandra, Renee, Meredith )

 

There were a lot of nerves from the “city 2 surf virgins “ as we spilt up into our groups Leonie Kathy and myself had all done this before but for everyone else it was their first time.

    

 

2 of our girls were very nervous

about the whole thing, even after we started they were constantly looking around to make sure they could still spot me, Now up until this point I had been solely focused on me and determined that I was going to smash my previous time and do this in under 2hrs, but seeing the 2 girls starting to freak out at the crowd size and the sheer size of the whole event I decided I would walk it with them instead…..

 

At the 5km mark one of the girls started to panic and making comments about not being able to finish, I knew how disappointed she would be if she let those demons win, so time for a change of tatic….  photos… with any character we could find…  we had photos with smurfs, gorillas, and even a yak!!

                                

 

We had a BLAST!! and after a few more km’s she was confident enough to let us jog off ahead….

 

One more quick stop for that comparison pic and Jodi and I were on the home straight, we finished the race in 2:21mins..

 

 

Not the time I had been hoping for BUT.. helping 2 friends conquer their fears and enjoy themselves is well worth it….

 

Next year I aim to jog the entire distance,  and my time will be whatever it will be…..

Leave a Reply

